The Empty Mask

You are such an intrigue, they tell me.

So distant. Composed. Reserved.

I want to know everything about you.

What you are thinking, feeling, sensing.

.

Surely you are hiding many secrets?

You have made an art of silence.

What is it behind those pretty eyes?

Tell me everything; I must know.

.

I smile and take my bow and leave.

To linger is to be found out.

My hidden secret must be kept.

For their sake and not mine.

.

One day, I should like to answer plainly.

One day, when I no longer care.

That day, I will look them in the eye

And show them that there is nothing there.

.

.

.

This entry was published on January 19, 2013 at 3:31 AM. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “The Empty Mask

  1. “To linger is to be found out”, that is a poem in itself. Really nice imagery.

write the fox

