To The Bitter End

Tomorrow is the day the world ends.

Tomorrow, I planned to eat pancakes.

They were going to be delicious.

How inconsiderate of the world to end, then.

.

Today, I finally made plans for my future.

I was going to be a flight attendant.

I would have always worn a fixed smile.

God, the world’s going to miss out.

.

Yesterday, I had a long talk with my mother.

She prattled, and I held the phone away from my ear.

Not sure I’ll miss that one so much.

But I feel obliged to continue begrudging the world.

.

It’s really not on that it’s going to end now.

Doesn’t it know that I’m too young to die?

I’m like a bright star, all special and twinkly.

The world doesn’t care, and I can’t imagine why.

.

.

.

This entry was published on December 20, 2012 at 9:12 PM. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

write the fox

